Satya Pal Malik sworn-in as governor of Bihar

Satya Pal Malik (71) was sworn-in as 35th Governor of Bihar. He was administered oath to office by Chief Justice of Patna High Court Rajendra Menon.
He succeeds West Bengal Governor Keshari Nath Tripathi who was holding additional charge of Bihar after the elevation of Ram Nath Kovind as President.

Satya Pal Malik

He hails from Baghpat district in western Uttar Pradesh. Prior to this appointment, he was national vice-president of BJP. He had begun his political career in 1970s as member of UP Legislative Assembly between 1974 and 1977.
He was elected from Aligarh Lok Sabha constituency on Janata Dal ticket in 1989-90. He also served as a member of Rajya Sabha for two terms of 1980-86 and 1986-1992. He has also served as MoS for Parliamentary Affairs, and Tourism. He has also served in several Parliamentary Committees.

Constitutional provisions of Governor

Article 153: It says that there shall be Governor for each state. But 7th Constitutional Amendment Act, 1956 facilitated appointment of same person as a governor for two or more states.
Article 156: Governor is appointed by President for term of 5 years but usually holds office during pleasure of President. There is no provision of impeachment, as it happens for the president.




Latest E-Books