Mumbai wins Ranji Trophy 2016

Mumbai has won the Ranji Trophy for a season 2015-16 by defeating Saurashtra.
With this victory, Mumbai clinched Ranji title for record 41st time (10 of them being won with innings wins) after playing in record 45 finals.
In the final match played a Gahunje Stadium of Maharashtra Cricket Association in Pune, Mumbai defeated Saurashtra by 21 runs.
Shreyas Iyer of Mumbai was declared man of the match for his 117 runs in the match. He ended the season as the leading run-getter with 1321 runs at 73.38 including four centuries and seven fifties. Mumbai pacer Shardul Thakur also played important role in victory of team by taking five wickets for 26 runs in 13.2 overs.

About Ranji Trophy

  • Ranji Trophy is a domestic first-class cricket championship played in India between teams representing regional cricket associations.
  • The trophy is named after England and Sussex cricketer Kumar Shri Ranjitsinhji and was first played in 1934.
  • At present, the championship is played between 27 teams which include 21 states (of 29 Indian states) and Delhi (UT). The format of Ranji Trophy is Round-robin then knockout.



Latest E-Books