Members of Planning Commission resign

Following the standard practice, all members of the Planning Commission (PC) including Deputy Chairman Montek Singh Ahluwalia and all the other members of the Commission submitted their resignations to the Prime Minister’s Office to enable its reconstitution. Dr. Ahluwalia and the rest of the members will continue as acting members till a new Commission is set up.
The Prime Minister is the ex-officio chairman of the PC and all members of the commission submit their resignations to the Prime Minister after the general elections. The term of members of the PC is coterminous with the government. The reconstitution of the new PC will be decided by the newly elected government.
This outgoing Planning Commission had formulated the 12th Five Year Plan (2012-17), which envisages an annual average economic growth of 8% during the plan period.



Latest E-Books