Indian National Commission for Cooperation with UNESCO held in New Delhi

On January 30, 2020, the Indian Commission for Cooperation with UNESCO (INCCU) was chaired by the Union Human Resource Development Minister Shri Ramesh Pokhriyal “Nishank”. UNESCO is United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization. Along with the UNESCO commission, the event was also attended by the sub commissions namely Social Sciences, Culture, Education, Natural Sciences and Culture.


After the reconstitution of the commission, it has met for the first time. The sub commissions will aid in achieving the objectives of UNESCO in India. This will help in strengthening India’s image globally. The meeting also stressed on achieving 2030 Sustainable Development Goals.

One of the SDG, Quality Education is to be achieved through New Education Policy.

India and UNESCO

India is a founding member of UNESCO. The UNESCO office in India is a cluster office for 11 countries. They are Bhutan, Nepal, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Maldives, Afghanistan, Iran, Myanmar, India and Mongolia.




Latest E-Books