Coins to commemorate MGR’s 102nd birth anniversary

Tamil Nadu Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami released two commemorative coins in the denominations of Rs 100 and Rs 5 to mark the 102nd birth anniversary of DR M G Ramachandran. The first sets of coins were received by Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam at an event organised at the Tamil Nadu MGR Medical University.
The commemorative coins bear the portrait of Ramachandran at the centre along with the inscription ‘DR M G Ramachandran Birth Centenary’ on the lower periphery.

Commemorative coins in India

Commemorative coins are issued to celebrate some special occasion or to mark a special event or as a mark of respect towards some distinguished individuals or monument.
The first Commemorative coin in Independent India was issued in 1964 to commemorate the birth anniversary of India’s first Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru. Thereafter many Commemorative coins have been issued.
The lower denomination commemorative coins are usually for general circulation and their metal composition is usually in line with the regular coins, whereas the higher denomination commemorative coins usually contain some silver and are meant for collection purposes only.

DR M G Ramachandran

DR M G Ramachandran popularly known as M. G. R is an actor, filmmaker and politician who served as the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu for ten years between 1977 and 1987.



Latest E-Books