3 Indian Cities in UNESCO Network of Learning Cities

Recently, three cities in India have joined the UNESCO Global Network of Learning Cities. These include two cities Thrissur and Nilambur in Kerala and Warangal in Telangana.

Key Points

  • Warangal is the second UNESCO recognition for Telangana. Earlier, Ramappa Temple in Mulugu district was included in the list of UNESCO World Heritage Sites.
  • This time, Ukraine’s capital Kyiv, South African city Durban and UAE city Sharjah have been included in this list of UNESCO Global Network of Learning Cities.
  • In the year 2022, 77 cities from 44 countries of the world including India have been included in this list.
  • The inclusion of these cities will encourage exchange of ideas with other cities and share among themselves the methods of systems already implemented in these cities.

Nilambur (Kerala)

Nilambur is a famous eco-tourism destination in Kerala. Majority of the population here is dependent on agriculture and allied industries.

With Nilambur included in this list, sustainable development through community ownership, gender equality, inclusivity will be further promoted. As well as creating employment opportunities in the city and achieving the goals of the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

Thrissur (Kerala):

Thrissur, an important center of academic and research institutions, is considered the cultural capital of Kerala. It is also known as gold art and jewelery industry in particular. By being included in this UNESCO list, Thrissur will benefit the world with its intellectual, educational and jewelery arts and will itself benefit from cultural inclusion.


Warangal is a city with rich cultural heritage of Telangana. It is a major tourist destination of the state. More than 32 lakh tourists visit here every year. The economy of Warangal mainly depends on agricultural and industrial centres. The development of this city will further accelerate after it is included in the UNESCO Global Network of Learning Cities.

UNESCO Global Network of Learning Cities:

Launched in 2013, the UNESCO Global Network of Learning Cities (GNLC) is an international policy based network. It aims to ensure the development of all learning cities by sharing ideas and arts with other cities. So far, 294 cities from 76 countries are included in this list.

The network supports the achievements of all 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), but primarily focused on SDG 4 (‘Ensuring inclusive and equitable quality education and promoting lifelong learning opportunities for all) and SDG 11 (making human habitats sustainable, inclusive, safe).



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *