Rajiv Kumar: New Chief Election Commissioner of India

From May 15th, 2022, Rajiv Kumar, the current Election Commissioner (EC), will take over as the next Chief Election Commissioner (CEC). This announcement was made by the Union Ministry of Law and Justice.

Who is the current Chief Election Commissioner (CEC)?

Sushil Chandra is the incumbent Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) who will demit his office on May 14th, 2022.

Who will appoint Chief Election Commissioner (CEC)?

According to Article 324 (2) of the Indian Constitution, Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) will be appointed by the President of India.

What were the earlier positions held by Rajiv Kumar?

Rajiv Kumar is a retired IAS officer of the 1984 batch of Bihar/Jharkhand cadre. He superannuated from the IAS in February 2020. He served as the Director, Central Board of Reserve Bank of India (RBI), SBI, and NABARD. He also served as a member of many Boards and Committees. He was appointed as the chairman of the Public Enterprises Selection Board (PESB) in April 2020. Since September 1st, 2020 Rajiv Kumar is serving as the Election Commissioner (EC).

What is the structure of the Election Commission of India (ECI)?

According to Article 324 (2) of the constitution, the Election Commission of India (ECI) shall consist of the Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) and other election commissioners, if any, as the President may from time to time fix. Currently, ECI consists of the CEC and two Election Commissioners (ECs).

What is the salary of CEC?

According to the Election Commission (Condition of Service of Election Commissions And Transaction of Business) Act, 1991, the salary of the CEC is the same as the salary of a Judge of the Supreme Court of India.

How can CEC be removed from office?

Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) can be removed from office only in a manner and on grounds similar to a Judge of the Supreme Court of India.




Latest E-Books