Nari Shakti Puraskar

Nari Shakti Puraskar is the highest civilian honor for women in India.

About the award

  • Nari Shakti Puraskar is an annual award given by the Ministry of Women and Child Development to individual women or to institutions working for women empowerment.
  • In 1999, the awards were instituted under the title of Stree Shakti Puraskar. In 2015, the awards were reorganized and renamed as Nari Shakti Puraskar.
  • Every year, on International Women’s Day (8th March), President of India presents the awards to the recipients at Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi.
  • The awards are given in six institutional and two individual categories. Each institutional category is named after renowned woman in Indian history.
  • The awards also carry a cash prize. For the institutional category award, the cash prize is 2 lakh rupees and for the individual category award, the cash prize is 1 lakh rupees.

Six Institutional categories

  • Devi Ahilya Bai Holkar Award is given for best private sector organization or public sector undertaking (PSU), which promotes the welfare of women. This award is named after Ahilyabai Holkar (1725-1795), an 18th-century ruler of the Maratha Malwa kingdom. She overcame the barriers of patriarchal society.
  • Kannagi Devi Award is given for best state which has improved Child Sex Ratio (CSR). This award is named after Kannagi, the central character of the Tamil epic Silapathikaram. In Tamil tradition, Kannagi is considered a goddess.
  • Mata Jijabai Award is given for the best urban local body for providing services and facilities to women. This award is named after Chhatrapati Shivaji’s mother, Jijabai.
  • Rani Gaidinliu Zeliang Award is given to a civil society organization doing outstanding work for the welfare of women. This award is named after Rani Gaidinliu, a 20th-century Naga spiritual and political leader, who revolted against British rule in India.
  • Rani Lakshmi Bai Award is given to the best institution for research and development in the field of women empowerment. This award is named after Lakshmibai, the queen of Jhansi and one of the prominent figures of the revolt of 1857.
  • Rani Rudrama Devi Award is given to two District Panchayats and two Gram Panchayats for work in the area of women’s welfare especially related to the Beti Bachao, Beti Padhao (BBBP) Yojana. This award is named after Rudrama Devi, a 13th-century ruler of the Kakatiya dynasty in Deccan Plateau.

Two individual categories

  • Award for courage and bravery.
  • Awards for making outstanding contributions to women’s endeavor, community work, or making a difference, or women’s empowerment.

On March 8th 2022, President of India Shri Ram Nath Kovind will present the awards at a special ceremony to be held at Rashtrapati Bhavan, New Delhi.




Latest E-Books