Constitution 14th Amendment Act, 1962

The French establishments of Pondicherry, Karaikal, Mahe and Yanam became territories of India after the ratification of “Treaty of Cession” by the Governments of India and France. Also to create Legislative Assemblies for Himachal Pradesh, Tripura, Manipur and Goa.

Important provisions

  • First Schedule was amended to include the territories of “Pondicherry”.
  • It amended the article 81(1)(b) of the Constitution to raise the maximum number of seats in LokSabha for members representing the Union territories, from twenty to twenty-five, thus enabling representation being given to Union territory of “Pondicherry”.
  • Fourth Schedule was amended to allocate one seat in RajyaSabhe to the Union territory of Pondicherry.
  • New Article 239A was inserted to create Legislatures and Counil of Ministers for the Union territories of Himachal Pradesh, Manipur, Tripura, Goa, Daman and Diu, and Pondicherry
  • Article 240(1) was amended to enable the President to make regulations for the peace, progress and good government for the Union territory of Pondicherry.

Latest E-Books