IAS General Studies Prelims Question No. 28

The constitutional power to address the Parliament of India has been given to __:
1. President of India
2. Chief Justice of India
3. Comptroller and Auditor General
4. Solicitor General
Choose the correct option from the codes given below:
[A] Only 1
[B] Only 1 & 3
[C] Only 1 & 4
[D] Only 1, 2 & 4
[toggles][toggle title=”Answer”]

[A] Only 1
Article 87(1) of the Constitution provides:— "At the commencement of the first session after each general election to the House of the People and at the commencement of the first session of each year the President shall address both Houses of Parliament assembled together and inform Parliament of the causes of its summons. "