According to the “doctrine of pleasure”, certain constitutional offices are held during the pleasure of the president. Which among the following include such offices?
1. All ministers
2. Chairman of the UPSC
3. Attorney General
4. Speaker of Lok Sabha
5. Comptroller and Auditor General of India
Choose the correct option from the codes given below:
[A] 1, 2 & 3
[B] 1 & 3
[C] 1, 3 & 5
[D] 1, 3, 4 & 5
[toggles][toggle title=”Answer”]

[B] 1 & 3

All the ministers are appointed by the president on the advice of the Prime Minister. It is the Prime Minister who allocates the portfolio to other ministers. The prime Minister may call for the resignation of any minister at any time. In case the minister refuses, the prime minister may advice the President to dismiss the minister. This is also called the “Rule of Individual Responsibility”.