Zonal Cultural Centers

Ministry of Culture , Government of India has set up 7 Zonal Cultural Centres (ZCCs) across the country. The Objective of these Zonal Cultural centers is to promote and preserve the traditional folk arts of States within their respective jurisdictions. A total budget of Rs. 2159 lakhs has been allocated to ZCCs under Plan during 2009-10 (including Rs. 759 lakhs under NE head) for implementation of their schemes.
The 7 Zonal Cultural Centres are as follows:




Member States


North Zone Cultural


Jammu  & Kashmir,
Punjab, Haryana, Uttrakhand, Rajasthan, Himachal Pradesh and Union Territory
of Chandigarh


West Zone Cultural


Rajasthan, Maharashtra,
Gujarat, Goa, Union Territory of Daman and Diu and Nagra Haveli


South Zone Cultural


Andhra Pradesh,
Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Union Territories of Andaman & Nicobar
Islands, Lakshadweep, Puducherry.


South Central Zone
Cultural Centre


Andhra Pradesh,
Chhattisgarh, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh and Maharashtra


Eastern Zonal Cultural


Assam, Bihar,
Jharkhand, Manipur, Orissa, Sikkim, Tripura, West Bengal and Union Territory
of Andaman and Nicobar Islands.


North Central Zone
Cultural Centre


Uttar Pradesh, Madhya
Pradesh, Bihar, Haryana, Rajasthan, Uttrakhand  and Delhi.


North East Zone
Cultural Centre


Arunachal Pradesh,
Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim and Tripura.

ZCCs are implementing the following schemes to promote the traditional folk arts of the member-states:-

  1. National Cultural Exchange Programme: With a view to present art forms of one region to another and expose the diverse cultural heritage of each region to the rest of the country, the folk/tribal artistes are sent on exchange manner to participate in the programmes organized by the seven Zonal Cultural Centres.
  2. Guru Shishya Parampara Scheme: The Scheme was introduced in 2003-04 with a view to promote development of new talents in the field of music and dance, folk and tribal art forms, under the able guidance of Gurus.
  3. Young Talented Artistes Scheme: The Scheme was introduced during the year 2004-05 to recognize and encourage young talents in the various folk arts forms of different regions in the country.
  4. Documentation of Vanishing Art Forms: Under the Scheme, documentation of various traditional folk art forms is undertaken, especially of those which are seen to be vanishing.
  5. Shilpagram Activities: ZCCs have set up Shilpagrams at Chandigarh, Khajuraho, Udaipur, Guwahati, Allahabad and Shantiniketan to encourage various forms of traditional folk/tribal arts from rural India. These Shilpagrams are attracting a large number of domestic as well as foreign visitors. Through these Shilpgrams, a large number of artistes and artisans are benefited and a large number of people are made aware of our rich cultural heritage.
  6. Loktarang – National Folk Dance Festival and OCTAVE – Festival of the North East: All the ZCCs participate in these National level festivals organized every year in New Delhi and/or other places. A large number of folk/tribal artistes from all corners of the country perform during these festivals to showcase the diverse folk/tribal arts of our different regions/states.

inputs from press information bureau , last updated January 7, 2009