List of Awards by ICAR

The Indian Council of Agricultural Research recognized this fact way back in 1956 when it instituted a number of awards. At present 17 awards are given in different categories. Out if this, eight awards are given annually and nine are given biannually to recognize the agricultural scientists and institutions who make outstanding contributions for the growth and development of agricultural science and technology and to promote excellence in the broad fields of agricultural research, education and training.

Sardar Patel Outstanding ICAR Institution Award

Three awards of Rupees 5 lakh each to two ICAR Institutes and one State Agricultural University (SAU) is awarded annually for the best performance in agricultural research, extension and education.

Choudhary Devi Lal Outstanding All-India Coordinated Research Project Award

To recognize outstanding performance of an All-India Coordinated Research Project(AICRP) and its cooperating centres in terms of linkages, research output and its impact, and to promote a sense of partnership pride and belonging in the minds of the co-operators, the ICAR has instituted this annual award of Rupees 1 lakh.

Rafi Ahmed Kidwai Award

Awarded since 1956 for research work in agriculture, animal husbandry and allied sciences. Nine awards of Rupees 3 lakh each are given once on two years.

Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed Award for Tribal Areas

It encourages ‘Agricultural Research in Tribal Areas’. Since 1977, the award of Rupees 50,000 is being given once in two years for outstanding research work done for the improvement of tribal farming systems.

Hari Om Ashram Trust Award

Instituted in 1972, recognizes published original research, fundamental or applied, in crop science, horticulture, resource management and animal science. The award carries 4 prizes of the value of Rupees 40,000 each and are awarded once in two years.

Jawaharlal Nehru Award

Distributed since 1969 among young scientists for excellence in Postgraduate Agricultural Research submitted for their doctorate degree as an incentive for high-quality fundamental or applied research among the post-graduate students in India. There are eighteen awards with a cash prize of Rupees 20,000 each with a Gold Medal given annually.

Vasantrao Naik Award

It has been started in 1994 for distribution annually based on published work of a scientist or an extension worker suggesting reforms in Water Conservation and Dryland Farming. This is an annual award of Rupees one lakh.

Lal Bahadur Shastri Young Scientist Award

This award has been instituted to promote high-quality research efforts in selected areas of agriculture and allied sciences and to provide recognition and incentives to promising young scientists for original research work. This is awarded once in two years. Each award consists of sanction of the proposed research scheme and a cash prize of Rupees 25,000.

Bharat Ratna Dr. C Subramaniam Outstanding Teacher Award

To provide incentive and encouragement for good teaching and to recognize outstanding teachers in the field of agriculture, eight national awards of Rupees 50,000 (enhanced from Rs. 25,000) each are given once in two years. This award was instituted in 1994-95.

Punjab Rao Deshmukh Woman Agricultural Scientist Award

An annual award, instituted in 1995 to encourage the woman scientists. Women-scientists working at the Institutions under the ICAR system, including State Agricultural Universities are eligible for this award. Two awards of Rupees 50,000 each are given to individual woman scientist.

Chaudhary Charan Singh Award for Excellence in Journalism in Agricultural Research and Development

In recognition of outstanding contributions in Journalism in Agriculture Research and Development in the Country, the ICAR has instituted an annual award of Rupees 1 lakh for the first time during year 2000. The award is given to an individual for his/ her significant contribution in writing/ analyzing/ reporting for promotion of Indian agriculture.

N.G. Ranga Farmer Award for Diversified Agriculture

In recognition of outstanding contributions in diversified agricultural activities, ICAR has instituted this annual award in the name of Prof. N. G. Ranga for the first time in 2001. The award is given to an individual practising new entrepreneurship/ enterprise/ management strategies for additional information to existing one in the field of diversified agriculture in India which will result in generating additional income to individual farmer/ farming community. This award carries Rupees 1 lakh.

Jagjivan Ram Kisan Puruskar

ICAR has instituted this annual award of Rupees 1 lakh to recognize the outstanding contribution and distinguished farming attributes of individual farmer in the area of Agricultural Productivity and Allied Activities.

Swamy Sahajanand Saraswati Extension Scientist /Worker Award

ICAR Instituted it in 1995 to be given away to the outstanding Extension Scientists/ Workers from the ICAR-SAU-NGO/ State Government Research Extension Network for their innovative research in developing extension education programmes, adopting extension methodologies and creating impact of the program on the farming community, especially to the downtrodden. Four awards of R. 25,000 along with a citation and a plaque are given away once in two years.

ICAR Award for Outstanding Multidisciplinary Team Research in Agriculture and Allied Sciences

To provide recognition to outstanding interdisciplinary team research in agriculture and allied sciences to promote the culture of interdisciplinary team effort in the solution of inherently interdisciplinary problem. Nine awards of Rupees 1 lakh each are given away to a team of scientists (normally restricted to eight members) once in two years.

National Krishi Vigyan Kendra Award ICAR

In order to recognize outstanding institutional performance by Krishi Vigyan Kendras, which have run for a minimum period of five years, three awards of Rupees 1,00,000 each are given away every year.

Dr. Rajendra Prasad Puruskar for Technical Books in Hindi in the Field of Agriculture and Allied Sciences

To provide incentive and recognition to the Indian writers/authors to write standard Hindi work in agriculture and allied sciences. Eight awards of Rupees 50,000 each are given to an individual as well as team of authors once in two years.

………with inputs from ICAR website
Video from our Channel


Random Articles