Tunisian National Dialogue Quartet awarded 2015 Nobel Peace Prize

Tunisian National Dialogue Quartet (NDQ) has been awarded prestigious 2015 Nobel Peace Prize at a ceremony held in Oslo, Norway.
The award was collected by Trade unionist Hassine Abassi, human rights activist Abdessatar Ben Moussa, Mohamed Fadhel Mahfoudh and Ouided Bouchamaoui.
Earlier in October 2015, Norwegian Nobel Committee has selected NDQ for the prestigious award for its decisive contribution in building pluralistic democracy in Tunisia in the wake of the 2011 Jasmine Revolution (It is birth place of Arab Spring).  It is also credited with creating a dialogue between the country’s Islamist and secular coalition parties.
NDQ consists following 4 organisations in Tunisian civil society. They are

  • Tunisian General Labour Union.
  • Tunisian Confederation of Industry, Trade and Handicrafts.
  • Tunisian Human Rights League.
  • Tunisian Order of Lawyers.

NDQ was established in 2013 as an alternative, peaceful political process at a time when Tunisia was on the brink of civil war aftermath of revolution. It was formed at a time when the revolution that overthrew President Zine el-Abidine Ben Ali in 2011 appeared to be unravelling.


Latest E-Books