Punjabi University won Maulana Abul Kalam Azad trophy 2014

Punjabi University of Patiala has clinched the prestigious sports award Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) trophy for year 2014.
The Trophy will be awarded to Univeristy on 29 August 2015 on the occasion of National Sports Day.
The university has won this trophy for the total eighth time and fourth time in a consecutive row. Earlier, Punjabi university had won this trophy in 2006, 2007, 2008, 2011, 2012 and 2013.
The award was announced by the Association of Indian Universities by releasing the names and points of top nine universities in sports in India. In the list Punjabi University has topped with 71,840 points. Guru Nanak Dev University Amritsar was placed at second spot with 65,170 points while Delhi University is placed third with 31,770 points.

About Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Trophy

  • The Trophy is given annually to the university/institutions for their all-round performance in Inter-University Tournaments.
  • Established: in 1956-57 as a Running Trophy by Union Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports in the memory of scholar and a senior political leader Maulana Azad.
  • Award carries: Replica of the Trophy and a monetary award of ten lakh rupees which shall be utilized for development of games and sports.



Latest E-Books