Parliament passes Constitution (Scheduled Castes) Orders Amendment Bill, 2015

Parliament has passed Constitution (Scheduled Castes) Orders Amendment Bill, 2015.
The bill was first passed in Rajya Sabha on February 24, 2015 and later in Lok Sabha on March 17, 2015. It was unanimously passed by a voice vote in both the houses.
The bill seeks to modify the list of Scheduled Castes in three states- Haryana, Karnataka, Odisha and one Union Territory- Dadra and Nagar Haveli.

Key Amendments

The Bill amends the Constitution (Scheduled Castes) Order, 1950 and the Constitution (Dadra and Nagar Haveli) Scheduled Castes Order, 1962.
The Bill adds the following communities to the list of Scheduled Castes:

  • Haryana: Kabirpanthi, Julaha.
  • Karnataka: Bhovi, od, odde, Vaddar, Waddar.
  • Odisha: Dhoba, Dhobi, Dom, Dombo, Duria Dom, Katia, Kela, Nalua Kela, Khadala and Turi.
  • Dadra and Nagar Haveli: Chamar.

The bill was introduced in Parliament as per the provisions of Article 341 of the Constitution. Article 341 empowers Parliament to include or exclude castes from the list of Scheduled Castes in the notification. It also empowers the President to specify castes which will be deemed as Scheduled Castes through a notification.



Latest E-Books