Joao Lourenco officially sworn-in as new President of Angola

Joao Manuel Goncalves Lourenco, the leader of People’s Movement for the Liberation of Angola (MPLA), has been officially sworn-in as the new President of Angola on September 26, 2017. With this, he became the first new leader in the oil-rich southern African nation in almost four decades. He succeeded Jose Eduardo dos Santos, who has been in power since 1979. Lourenco will be Angola’s first head of state to be constitutionally limited to serving two five-year terms.


Latest E-Books