Government reconstitutes NDMA by nominating new three new members

Government has reconstituted the National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA) by nominating three new members.
3 new nominated members are:

  • Dr D N Sharma- Director, Health Safety and Environment Group, Bhabha Atomic Research Centre.
  • Kamal Kishore- Programme Advisor, UNDP, New York.
  • Lt. Gen. N.C. Marwah.

National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA)
It is a statutory body under the aegis of Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA). Its provisions are envisaged in Disaster Management Act, 2005. It was established in 2009.
Function: To coordinate the response to natural or man-made disasters and capacity-building in case of disaster resiliency and crisis response.
Structure: It is governed by a 9 member board chaired by the Prime Minister of India.
At present for its smooth functioning it consists of ten battalions of Central Armed Police Forces, including three each of the Border Security force (BSF), Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF), and two each of the Central Industrial Security Force (CISF) and Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP).



Latest E-Books