Dr G C Anupama elected as President of Astronomical Society of India

Dr G C Anupama has been elected president of the Astronomical Society of India (ASI). Dr G C Anupama was elected to the post in the ASI Executive Council elections for triennium 2019-22. She has become the first woman to head the prime association of professional astronomers in the country.

Dr G C Anupama

Dr G C Anupama at present is the Dean and Senior Professor at the Bengaluru based Indian Institute of Astrophysics (IIA).  She did her PhD from IIA Bangalore and her post-doctoral work at the Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics (IUCAA) at Pune. She has been serving as a faculty at IIA Bangalore since 1994. She is also the recipient of the Sir C V Raman award for young scientists in 2000.
Dr G C Anupama  was the Project in Charge for the design and establishment of the Himalayan Telescope at Leh in Ladakh and she is also part of the Indian core team which is part of the international team engaged in establishing the thirty meter telescope (TMT) at cost of over USD 1 billion in the USA (Hawaii).

Astronomical Society of India

Astronomical Society of India is the prime association of professional astronomers in India and has close to 1,000 members. The objectives of the Astronomical Society of India include the promotion of Astronomy and related branches of science in India. It organizes scientific meetings and supports the popularisation of Astronomy and other similar activities.




Latest E-Books


  • Dr.Cajetan Coelho

    Congratulations to Dr G C Anupama.