Central Government to launch scheme for conservation of heritage and development of 12 cities

Central government is planning to launch scheme for conservation of heritage and development of 12 cities across the country.  It was announced by Union Urban Development Minister M Venkaiah Naidu.
For this scheme government had allocated Rs. 500 crore in the Union Budget 2014 and it will be rolled out in January 2015.
Under this scheme, 12 cities will be covered under the National Heritage City Development and Augmentation Yojana (HRIDAY).
The 12 cities are:  Amritsar, Varanasi, Gaya, Puri, Ajmer, Mathura, Dwarka, Badami, Velankanni, Kanchipuram, Warangal and Amaravati.
From Andhra Pradesh and Telangana towns selected are Amaravati from Guntur district and Warangal which have rich heritage and culture.
Warangal: It was the capital of the Kakatiya dynasty.
Amaravati: It is situated on the banks of river Krishna and was the capital of Satavahanas in the 2nd Century. It is also a major Buddhist centre.
About Heritage City Development and Augmentation Yojana (HRIDAY)

  • It aims to bring urban planning, economic growth and heritage conservation together for heritage cities.
  • It also seeks beautification in an inclusive and integrated manner with focus on cleanliness, livelihoods, skills, safety, security, accessibility and faster service delivery of heritage cities.
  • Heritage management plan (HMP) will be prepared for the identified cities which will outline heritage resources and develop policies to guide their conservation, restoration, future use and development.
  • It will seek to improve last-mile connectivity heritage sites by documentation, conservation of areas, providing more facilities for women, senior citizens and differently abled citizens.

Thus it will help to create improved connectivity platform and access to tourists.




Latest E-Books