Biren Singh sworn in as CM of Manipur

BJP’s N Biren Singh took oath as the Chief Minister of Manipur. He was administered oath to the office and secrecy by Governor Najma Heptulla. National People’s Party’s (NPP) Joykumar takes oath as the deputy chief minister. This is for the first time in India’s history since independence, BJP was able to form government in Manipur. In the recent assembly election BJP, which was the second largest party behind Congress (28 seats), had claimed that it enjoyed the support of 32 MLAs in the 60-member assembly. Manipur will be the third northeastern state where BJP will be in power.


Latest E-Books