Swimmers Current Affairs, GK & News

Srihari Nataraj from Bengaluru wins best male swimmer award

Srihari Nataraj from Bengaluru  has won the best male swimmer award at the 73rd Glenmark National senior aquatic championships at the Prakash Tarun Pushkar pool. He created a national record in the men’s 100m backstroke. Meanwhile, Shivani Kataria from Haryana was adjudged as the best woman swimmer. Karnataka won the overall championship and men’s team ..


Rawat made ‘B’ time standard for 2019 FINA World Championships

Indian swimmer Kushagra Rawat made the ‘B’ time standard for the 2019 FINA World Championships and the 2020 Tokyo Olympics after clocking 08.07.99 in the 800m freestyle category at the Speedo Thailand Age Group Championships at Bangkok. The B timing for men’s 800m freestyle for World Championship 2019 is 08:10.91 and Tokyo Olympics is 08:08.54. ..


Rikako Ikee becomes first female athlete to be named Most Valuable Player (MVP) at Asian Games

Japanese swimmer Rikako Ikee (18) became the first female athlete to be named the Most Valuable Player (MVP) at Asian Games after she scooped an unprecedented six gold medals in the Jakarta pool. She also won two silvers. With this, Ikee also became the first female athlete in any sport to win six gold medals ..


Kanchanmala Pande clinches gold at World Para Swimming Championship 2017

Kanchanmala Pande from Nagpur, the visually impaired swimmer, has scripted history by becoming the first Indian to win gold at the World Para Swimming Championship in Mexico on December 7, 2017. Pande, who works with Reserve Bank of India (RBI), stood first in the in 200 meters medley event in S-11 category. In the World ..


Kylie Masse clinches gold in women’s 100m backstroke at 2017 World Aquatics Championships

Kylie Masse, a Canadian swimmer, has won gold in the women’s 100-metre backstroke with a world-record time of 58.10 seconds at the 2017 World Aquatics Championships in Budapest, Hungary. With this achievement, she became the first Canadian woman to become a world champion and first Canadian to win a title since Brent Hayden.


Phelps 3rd consecutive win creates history

Star swimmer Michael Phelps of US created history as he won Gold in the Men’s 200-metre Individual Medley. Phelps has now become the first man to win this event at three consecutive Olympic Games.