Pro-tem Speaker Current Affairs, GK & News

Pro-tem Speaker

The speaker of the Lok Sabha/legislative assembly vacates the office immediately before the first meeting of the newly elected house. Hence President/governor appoints the pro-tem speaker to preside over the sittings of the house. Pro-tem Speaker: Selection and Functions Usually the senior most member is elected as the pro-tem speaker. The president/governor will administer the ..

..Read More

Virendra Kumar: Pro-tem Speaker of 17th Lok Sabha

The Bharatiya Janta Party’s (BJP) Member of Parliament (MP) from Madhya Pradesh Dr Virendra Kumar will be the Pro-tem Speaker of 17th Lok Sabha. Key Highlights The 65 year old Virendra Kumar, is a seven-term MP. He won the 17th Lok Sabha election from Tikamgarh Lok Sabha constituency. Tikamgarh is one of the 29 parliamentary ..