National Commission on Farmers Current Affairs, GK & News

National Commission on Farmers

In 2004, the UPA government had constituted a National Commission on Farmers under the chairmanship of Dr. MS Swaminathan. This commission included a wide variety of people into definition of farmer. Farmers included landless agricultural labourers, sharecroppers, tenants, small, marginal and sub-marginal cultivators, farmers with larger holdings, fishermen and women, dairy, sheep, poultry and other ..

Delhi government decides to introduce MSP for farmers based on MS Swaminathan report

The Delhi government has decided to provide the Capital’s farmers a Minimum Support Price (MSP) for their crops based on the recommendations of the M.S. Swaminathan Committee’s report. In its 2006 report, the National Commission on Farmers’ chairman Prof. M S Swaminathan suggested the Commission for Agricultural Costs and Prices (CACP) to fix MSP at ..


Delhi to award MSP as per Swaminathan Committee Report

The Delhi government has decided to introduce the Minimum Support Price (MSP) for farmers based on the recommendations of the National Commission on Farmers (NCF) headed by MS Swaminathan. Swaminathan Committee recommendations on MSP The National Commission on Farmers (NCF) was constituted on November 18, 2004 under the chairmanship of Professor M.S. Swaminathan. The committee made ..