Members of the Rajya Sabha

New nominations to Rajya Sabha

On July 6, 2022, four new nominations were made to the Rajya Sabha. Who have been nominated? The four nominations include: Ilaiyaraaja, who is the Music maestro from Tamil Nadu. P T Usha, who is a sports icon from Kerala. ..



Thawar Chand Gehlot appointed as Leader of House for Rajya Sabha

Thawar Chand Gehlot, the Union Minister for Social Justice and Empowerment, has been appointed the Leader of the House for the Rajya Sabha. He will replace senior BJP leader Arun Jaitley who opted out of the government citing health reasons. ..

Bhubaneswar venue of 42nd Indian Social Science Congress (ISSC)

The 42nd Indian Social Science Congress (ISSC-2018) was inaugurated by Manipur governor Dr Najma Heptulla at KIIT University campus in Bhubaneswar, Odisha on December 27. The theme of the Congress was ‘Human Future in Digital Era’. The ISSC is the ..

Arun Jaitley head of newly constituted Group of Ministers (GoM) on stressed power assets

The Union government has constituted a Group of Ministers (GoM) headed by Finance Minister Arun Jaitley to examine the specific recommendations of High Level Empowered Committee (HLEC) constituted to address the issue of stressed power projects and forward their comments ..

Harivansh Narayan Singh elected as Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha

NDA candidate Harivansh Narayan Singh has been elected as the Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha after defeating opposition nominee B K Hariprasad on 9th August 2018. Mr Harivansh, a veteran journalist, represents the state of Bihar in the House ..

Rajyavardhan Rathore takes charge as new Minister of Information and Broadcasting (I&B)

In a Cabinet reshuffle, Col Rajyavardhan Rathore has taken charge as the new Union Minister of Information and Broadcasting (I&B) on May 15, 2018. He replaced Smriti Irani. Mrs Irani will now only hold the portfolio of Minister of Textiles. ..