Mega Merger of Banks Current Affairs, GK & News

Government approves merger of 10 PSBs into four

The government approved a scheme for the amalgamation of 10 state-owned banks into four, in the month of March 2020 and announced that the integration will be made effective from April 1, 2020. After this process, India will have 12 Public Sector Banks. Punjab National Bank, Oriental Bank of Commerce, and United Bank of India ..


Merger of Public Sector Banks

The government has unveiled a mega plan to merge 10 public sector banks into four as part of plans to create fewer and stronger global-sized lenders. Proposed Merger Punjab National Bank, Oriental Bank of Commerce and United Bank of India will combine to form the nation’s second-largest lender. Canara Bank and Syndicate Bank will merge. Union Bank ..


Merger of the 10 Public Sector Banks

In a slew of measures announced by the Finance Minister of India, Nirmala Sitharaman on 30th August, 2019, to take the country out of economic doldrums, one particular step of the government has stood out. This was the planned merger of 10 public sectors into 4 banks. The anchor banks for this merger will be ..