Laureus World Sports Awards: GK, General Studies and Current Affairs

Messi becomes the first team-player to win World Sportsman of the year

In 2020 Laureus Sports awards, the ‘World Sportsman of the year’ award was bagged jointly by British Formula one racer Lewis Hamilton and Football icon Lionel Messi. The Argentinean footballer Messi has become the first team-player to win the coveted award. Also, in the 20-year history of the global award, this is the first time ..

Novak Djokovic wins World Sportsman of Year award at 2019 Laureus World Sports Honours

Gymnast Simone Biles and tennis player Novak Djokovic won the top prizes at the 2019 Laureus World Sports Awards in Monaco. Djokovic won the Sportsman of the Year award after claiming victory at both the US Open and Wimbledon. While, Biles was named Sportswoman of the Year after winning four gold medals, one silver and ..

India-based Yuwa wins 2019 Laureus Sport for Good award

Yuwa, a Jharkhand-based NGO which works for girl empowerment, has won the prestigious 2019 Laureus Sport for Good Honour at Monaco. The NGO was founded in rural Jharkhand in 2009 by Americans Franz Gastler and Rose Thomson Gastler. They are using football to improve the lives of young girls from disadvantaged communities and from regions ..

Vinesh Phogat becomes first Indian athlete to be nominated in Laureus World Comeback of Year Award

Ace Indian female wrestler Vinesh Phogat from Haryana has become the first Indian athlete to receive a nomination in the prestigious Laureus World Comeback of the Year Award. Vinesh made a sensational comeback after battling a long injury lay-off to win a gold medal at the Gold Coast Commonwealth Games and Jakarta Asian Games. She ..

Roger Federer wins 2017 Laureus World Sportsman of Year and Comeback of Year awards

Roger Federer, 20-times Grand Slam champion, has won the 2017 Laureus World Sportsman of the Year and Comeback of the Year awards at the 18th edition of the awards ceremony in Monaco. Federer, who returned to the world number one ranking, had clinched the Australian Open and Wimbledon titles in 2017 after the 7-year break ..