Indian Literature: GK, General Studies and Current Affairs

Jayant Kaikini wins 2018 DSC Prize for South Asian Literature

Jayant Kaikini, renowned Kannada poet short-story writer, columnist and playwright and lyricist, has won the prestigious 2018 DSC Prize for South Asian Literature for ‘No Presents Please: Mumbai Stories’ at the Tata Steel Kolkata Literary Meet. The novel is a collection of short stories set in Mumbai dating back to the 1980s. It offers a ..

Nireeswaran wins as best novel of 2017 at Kerala Sahitya Akademi Awards

The Kerala Sahitya Akademi Awards for the year 2017 have been announced on 23rd January 2019. In it, ‘Nireeswaran’ by V.J. James has been adjudged the best novel of 2017, while Aymanam John’s Ethara Characharangalude Charitra Pusthakam has secured the award for the best short story. Mindaprani, written by Veerankutty, is the best poetry. The ..

Krishna Sobti authors of novel ‘Zindaginama’

Krishna Sobti (94), the famous Hindi fiction writer and essayist, has passed away in New Delhi on January 25, 2019. She had won the Sahitya Akademi Award in 1980 for her novel Zindaginama and was awarded the Jnanpith in 2017 for her contribution to Indian literature. Sobti is best known for her 1966 novel Mitro ..

Sitanshu Yashashchandra bestowed with 2017 Saraswati Samman

Noted Gujarati poet Sitanshu Yashashchandra has been awarded the 27th edition of the Saraswati Samman 2017 for his poetry collection in Gujarati named “Vakhar”. He received the award by the noted film director and author Gulzar at a solemn function at National museum auditorium in New Delhi. The prestigious award is instituted by K.K.Birla foundation ..

Dibyendu Palit, renowned Bengali writer and Sahitya Akademi awardee, passes away

Dibyendu Palit (79), the renowned Bengali writer and Sahitya Akademi awardee, has passed away in Kolkata, West Bengal on 3rd January 2019. Born in Bhagalpur in Bihar in 1939, Palit had studied comparative literature in Jadavpur University and his first short story ‘Chhandopatan’ was published in 1955 in the Sunday edition of Anandabazar Patrika. It ..