Current GK


December 15, 2013

The full form of SARFAESI Act as we know is Securitisation and Reconstruction of Financial Assets and Enforcement of Security Interest Act, 2002. Banks utilize this act as an effective tool for bad loans (NPA) recovery. It is possible where non-performing assets are backed by securities charged to the...

Quick Fact Sheet 1

January 11, 2012

Miss World 2008The 58th Miss world was held at Sandton Convention Centre in Johannesburg, South Africa.Results:Winner : Ksenia Sukhinova, Russia (Earlier Title: Miss Russia 2007)1st Runner-up : Parvati Omnakuttan IndiaParvati was crowned “Pantaloons Femina Miss India World 2008” in April 2008. She is originally from Kerala & now lives...

B.G. Verghese Committee

September 24, 2011

The Janta Government had appointed a Working Group on the autonomy of the Akashwani and Doordarshan in August 1977. The chairman of this committee was B.G. Verghese. The committee submitted its report on February 24, 1978. This committee’s main recommendation was “formation of Akash Bharti or the “National Broadcasting...

India Roads Congress (IRC)

September 14, 2011

The India Roads Congress (IRC) is the oldest and most important representative technical body of highway engineers in India. The growth of highway engineering as a profession owes much to the IRC which has completed seventy three years of its existence. It can be claimed that the development of...

What are Mega Handloom Clusters?

September 7, 2011

Government of India has set up four mega handloom clusters at Varanasi (Uttar Pradesh), Sivasagar (Assam), Virudhunagar (Tamilnadu) and Murshidabad (West Bengal). Each mega handloom cluster has at least 25,000 handlooms and will be developed in a time period of 5 years with an upper Central Government share of...

Rajiv Gandhi Manav Seva Award

September 3, 2011

Rajiv Gandhi Manav Seva Award-2010 Announced Rajiv Gandhi Manav Seva Award for the year 2010 announced Following 3 individuals chosen for conferment of the prestigious award Smt. Mira Kagti, Assam Dr. S.A. Thasleem Sulthana, Andhara Pradesh Dr.Mallika Nadda, Himachal Pradesh The Award carries a cash prize of Rupees One...

Rajiv Gandhi National Sadbhavana Award

September 3, 2011

Award Information Type: Civilian Instituted: 1992 First Awarded: 1992 Awarded by: All India Congress Committee Cash Award: Rs. 5 Lakh   Rajiv Gandhi National Sadbhavana Award (Rajiv Gandhi National Communal Harmony Award) is an Indian award given for outstanding contribution towards promotion of communal harmony, national integration and peace....

List of Chief Ministers of Indian States

May 25, 2011

‘State /UT Name Took Office Party Andhra Pradesh Nallari Kiran Kumar Reddy 25-11-2010 INC Arunachal Pradesh Jarbom Gamlin 05-05-2011 INC Assam Tarun Kumar Gogoi 17-05-2001 INC Bihar Nitish Kumar 24-11-2005 JD (U) Chhattisgarh Raman Singh 07-12-2003 BJP Delhi Sheila Dikshit 03-12-1998 INC Goa Digambar Kamat 08-06-2007 INC Gujarat Narendra...

Indian Money Market & Development of Banking in India

May 24, 2011

The money market is a mechanism that deals with the lending and borrowing of short term funds or debt securities (bankers acceptances, commercial paper, repos, negotiable certificates of deposit, and Treasury Bills with a maturity of one year or less). Money market securities are generally very safe investments which...

List of Indian States by Sex Ratio (Census 2011)

May 23, 2011