17th Lok Sabha: GK, General Studies and Current Affairs

Public Accounts Committee reviews LAC infrastructure

On July 10, 2020, the Public Accounts Committee (PAC) reviewed the construction of border roads in the Line of Actual Control (LAC). The committee also discussed about procurement of high-altitude clothing for the armed forces. Highlights The 22-member committee was chaired by the leader of Congress Party Sabha Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury. Currently there is no ..

Om Birla elected as Speaker of 17th Lok Sabha

NDA nominee Om Birla from Kota has been unanimously elected as the Speaker of 17th Lok Sabha. All major political parties including Congress, DMK, TMC, BJD, YSR Congress, JD(U) and Shiv Sena supported the motion moved by Prime Minister and Leader of the House, Narendra Modi to choose Mr. Birla as the Speaker. Later, Pro-tem ..

Virendra Kumar sworn-in as pro-tem speaker of Lok Sabha

Dr. Virendra Kumar, the 7-time Lok Sabha MP from Tikamgarh in Madhya Pradesh, has been sworn-in as the pro-tem speaker of Lok Sabha. President Ram Nath Kovind administered oath to Dr Kumar at Rashtrapati Bhavan. As pro-tem speaker, Kumar will preside over the first sitting of the Lok Sabha and administer the oath to the ..