Sahitya Akademi Award 2019

The Sahitya Akademi Award is a literary honour, which is conferred by India’s National Academy of Letters, Sahitya Akademi annually to writers of the most outstanding books of literary merit published in any of the 24 listed languages(22 languages as listed under the Eighth Schedule of the Indian Constitution and 2 other languages recognized by the Sahitya Akademi).
The Sahitya Akademi Award was established and first awarded in the year 1954, the plaque awarded by the Sahitya Akademi was designed by Bharat Ratna recipient, renowned Indian filmmaker, Satyajit Ray.
On Wednesday, 18th December 2019, the Sahitya Akademi Award recipients for the years 2019 were announced in a Press Release by the Sahitya Akademi in 23 languages, recipient for the Nepali language will be announced later.
Some of the recipients are:

  • In the English language, An Era of Darkness, a non-friction by Shashi Tharoor.
  • In Hindi language, Chheelate Hue Apne Ko, poetry by Nand Kishore Acharya.
  • In Sanskrit language, Prajnachakshusham, poetry by Penna Madhusudan.



Latest E-Books