Right Livelihood Award 2019

The winners of Right Livelihood Award 2019 were announced in Stockholm, Sweden. The year 2019 was celebrated as the 40th anniversary of Right Livelihood Award, widely known as ‘Alternative Nobel Prize’.

2019 Right Livelihood Award Laureates

The Sweden-based Right Livelihood Foundation announced 4 winners in 2019 edition of awards, namely-

  1. Swedish climate activist Greta Thunberg– for inspiring and amplifying political demands for urgent climate action reflecting scientific facts
  2. Sahrawi human rights activist Aminatou Haidar- for her steadfast nonviolent action, despite imprisonment and torture, in pursuit of justice and self-determination for people of Western Sahara
  3. Chinese women’s rights lawyer Guo Jianmei– for her pioneering and persistent work in securing women’s rights in China.
  4. Hutukara Yanomami Association (Brazil) and its indigenous leader Davi Kopenawa– for their courageous determination to protect the forests and biodiversity of Amazon, and the lands and culture of its indigenous peoples

About Right Livelihood Award

The award was established in 1980 and is presented by Swedish Right Livelihood Foundation. The award honours and supports courageous people solving global problems. So far, there are 178 Right Livelihood Award Laureates from 70 countries.

The Swedish Right Livelihood Foundation has Special Consultative Status with UN Economic and Social Council. Thus the award also seeks to help protect those Award recipients whose life and liberty are in danger.

Unlike most other international prizes, the Right Livelihood Award has no categories. The award consists of a cash prize of 1 million Swedish kronor ($103,000) for each laureate.




Latest E-Books


  • Dr.Cajetan Coelho

    Hearty congratulations to all.