Ramanujan Prize for Young Mathematicians

On February 22, 2022, Professor Neena Gupta, conferred the Ramanujan Prize for Young Mathematicians 2021.

Key Points

  • Neena Gupta is a mathematician from Indian Statistical Institute in Kolkata.
  • She conferred the award for her outstanding work in affine algebraic geometry and commutative algebra.

About Ramanujan Prize for Young Mathematicians

The Ramanujan Prize for Young Mathematicians is a mathematics prize, that is awarded annually by “International Centre for Theoretical Physics” in Italy. It has been named after Indian mathematician Srinivasa Ramanujan. The prize was founded in 2004 and first awarded in 2005.

Who are awarded with the prize?

The Ramanujan Prize for Young Mathematicians is awarded to researcher from a developing country who are aged below 45 years and has conducted outstanding research in developing country. It is supported by Ministry of Science and Technology (India) as well as Norwegian Academy of Science & Letters through the Abel Fund, in cooperation of “International Mathematical Union”.

Funding for the scheme

The prize is funded by Department of Science and Technology (DST) in collaboration with International Centre for Theoretical Physics and International Mathematical Union.

Who was Srinivasa Ramanujan?

Srinivasa Ramanujan was an Indian mathematician. He lived during the British Rule in India. He had almost no formal training in pure mathematics, but he made substantial contributions to mathematical analysis, infinite series, number theory, continued fractions, and solutions to mathematical problems, that were then considered unsolvable. Initially, He developed his own mathematical research in isolation.

International Mathematical Union (IMU)

IMU is an international non-governmental organization, dedicated to international cooperation in mathematics worldwide. It is a member of International Science Council (ISC). It supports the International Congress of Mathematicians. National mathematics organizations from about 80 countries are its members. The IMU was established in 1920, however dissolved in September 1932. In 1950, it was re-established at the Constitutive Convention in New York.




Latest E-Books