PM Ujjwala Yojana

With the Pradhan Mantri Ujjwala Yojana reaching closure, the parliamentary committee noted that only 3 states have been declared kerosene free.

About the Scheme

The PM Ujjwala Yojana was launched in May of 2016 and it was implemented by the Union Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas. It aimed to provide LPG or Liquid Petroleum Gas connections to BPL households and reduce dependence on unclean fuels that contribute to air pollution and ill health of the people.

Eligibility Criteria

The scheme targets BPL (Below Poverty Line) households. The connection is registered to an adult woman (over 18 years old) of the household which must not have any other member with a registered LPG connection. The applicant must be an Indian citizen. The applicant must not be the beneficiary of similar schemes of the government (such as the Himachal Grihini Suvidha Yojana).

Kerosene Free Regions

Under the PM Ujjwala Yojana, only 3 states achieved the ‘kerosene free’ status: Punjab, Haryana and Andhra Pradesh. Several union territories were also declared as kerosene free: Delhi, Puducherry, Daman and Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Andaman and Nicobar Islands and Chandigarh.



Latest E-Books