PM Modi conferred with highest civilian honour of Bhutan

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has been conferred with Bhutan’s highest civilian award called Ngadag Pel gi Khorlo on December 17, 2021.

Key Facts

  • He was conferred with the award on the occasion of Bhutan’s National Day.
  • National Day of Bhutan is observed on December 17.
  • It marks the crowning of Ugyen Wangchuck as first Druk Gyalpo of modern Bhutan.
  • On the occasion, celebrations are held at Changlimithang Stadium.
  • Celebration includes a public address by the Druk Gyalpo as well as a procession including a statue of Ugyen Wangchuck, honouring the first Druk Gyalpo and independent Bhutanese nation.

The Druk Gyalpo

The Druk Gyalpo is the head of state of Bhutan. Bhutan is also known as Drukyul, in the Dzongkha language. It translates to “The Land of Thunder Dragon”. Kings of Bhutan are called as Druk Gyalpo (Dragon King) while, Bhutanese people call themselves Drukpa (people of Druk).

Present sovereign of Bhutan

Present Sovereign of Bhutan is Jigme Khesar Mangyel Wangchuck. He is the 5th Druk Gyalpo. He wears the Raven Crown, the official crown worn by the kings of Bhutan.

Highest decoration of Bhutan

Order of the Dragon King is the highest decoration of Bhutan. It is awarded to recognise a lifetime of service to the people and Kingdom of Bhutan. This decoration exists in two categories. The highest decoration is the pinnacle of the honour system in Bhutan. It was founded on November 7, 2008, to honour those who have devoted lifetime of service for nation and people of Bhutan.




Latest E-Books