Mohun Bagan Ratna Award 2019: Keshav Dutt, Prasun Banerjee

Two-time Olympic gold medal winning Hockey Player Keshav Dutt and former India Football Captain Prasun Banerjee are selected for Mohun Bagan Ratna Award 2019. Awards will be given away on annual celebration of Mohun Bagan Day (29 July).

This is for the 1st time Mohun Bagan’s executive committee has decided to confer their highest honour to a non-footballer i.e. a sportsperson from other discipline.

Keshav Dutt

The 93 year old Dutt, who played as a half-back, was part of National hockey team that won gold medals after India’s Independence– 1948 London Games, where India won the 1st gold post-Independence and 2nd Olympic gold in 1952 Helsinki.

He is one of the oldest surviving hockey Olympians of country.

Prasun Banerjee

The 64-year-old Banerjee, was a prominent midfielder of his times. He is the younger brother of iconic footballer P.K. Banerjee. He played in 3 Asian Games in 1974, 1978 and 1982 and was also part of an Asian All Star XI team.

Other Awardess

Arijit Bagui: The Best Football Player for the season 2018-19

Mohammed Shami: India’s hat-trick hero of 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup.

Ashok Chatterjee (Footballer): The Lifetime Achievement Award.

The club will also confer life membership to distinguished personalities- Chuni Goswami, Sourav Ganguly, Dr.Vece Paes, Deb Shankar Halder and Prasenjit Chatterjee.

About Mohun Bagan Ratna

It is an award presented each year on Mohun Bagan Day to outstanding former players. 1st recipient was former captain Sailen Manna in 2001.

Mohun Bagan Day: Every year 29 July is celebrated as Mohun Bagan Day. It is on this day in 1911 the Mariners became 1st club to defeat a British club, East Yorkshire Regiment, and lift IFA Shield, an annual football competition organized by the Indian Football Association.




Latest E-Books


  • Dr.Cajetan Coelho

    Congratulations to Keshav Dutt and Prasun Banerjee.