Michael D Higgins elected as new President of Ireland

Michael D Higgins has been re-elected as the President of Ireland after receiving 56% of the country’s votes in the elections. He is serving the post of President since November 2011. His 2nd presidential inauguration will take place on 11th November 2018. The President of Ireland is the head of state of Ireland and the Supreme Commander of the Irish Defence Forces. He holds office for 7 years, and can be elected for a maximum of two terms. The presidency is largely a ceremonial office, but the President does exercise certain limited powers with absolute discretion. The President acts as a representative of the Irish state and guardian of the constitution.


Latest E-Books