Karnataka Rajyotsava Awards

The Karnataka Government will not accept applications for Rajyotsava Awards from 2023. Rather a panel is to be set up to choose the eligible candidates. The state government is following the footsteps of the central government. The central government chooses the Padma awardees by itself. No applications are received from the candidates.

What are Karnataka Rajyotsava Awards?

The award is also called Rajyotsava Prahasti. It is the second highest civilian award in the state. It is presented by the state government on November 1. The award carries one lakh rupees and a gold medal (of 20 grams). Between 1966 and 1972, it was called the Mysore State Award. The awards are presented to the distinguished individuals in the field of medicine, sports, science, arts, industry, education, public affairs, social service.

Why are the awards presented on November 1?

Because November 1 is the Statehood Day of Karnataka. Every year, Karnataka celebrates Rayotsava Day on November 1. The state was formed on November 1, 1956. Before 1956, the state was called the State of Mysuru. The name was changed to Karnataka in 1973. Karnataka was created on the basis of language. The other states that were created on November 1 were Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh, Kerala, Haryana, Chhattisgarh, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh.

How are Padma Awardees selected?

The Padma awardee names are announced during the republic day celebrations. The awards are presented by the President of India at Rashtrapathi Bhavan. These awards are presented in the month of March or April. The awardees are selected by the Padma Awards Committee. The committee is constituted by the Prime Minister. The three Padma awards presented are Padma Bhushan, Padma Vibhushan and Padma Shri. The Padma Shri is presented for distinguished service. The Padma Bhushan is presented for distinguished service of high order. The Padma Vibhushan is presented for exceptional and distinguished service. Government servants are not eligible to get these awards.




Latest E-Books