International Solar Alliance: Solar Awards presented for the first time

The third assembly of International Solar Alliance was held between October 14, 2020 and October 16, 2020. The assembly was held in virtual mode.


During the assembly, the World Resource Institute report was presented. The report identified sources of funds, constraints and opportunities to scale up solar investments. The ISA is working with the WRI to mobilize 1 trillion USD of resources by 2030. This is being implemented under the “One Sun One World One Grid” initiative of International Solar Alliance.

ISA Solar Awards

For the first time, the following ISA Solar Awards were presented

Kalpana Chawla Awards

The award was presented by the Chief Minister of Haryana Manohar Lal Khattar. It was presented to Dr Bhim Singh of IIT Delhi and Dr Aaesha Alnuaimi of UAE. The award recognizes contributions of scientists working in the field of solar energy.

Visvesvaraya Award

It was presented to Japan in the Asia Pacific Region and to Netherlands in the Europe region. It carries a prize money of 12,330 USD. It recognizes countries with maximum floating capacity in four regions of ISA.

Diwakar Award

The award was presented to Arushi Institute and Arpan Institute. The prize money of the award is 25,000 USD. It is presented to the organizations that are working for the benefit of the physically challenged people and uses maximum solar energy.

World Solar Technology Summit

It was held virtually by the International Solar Alliance for the first time in 2020. The ISA was launched jointly by India and France in 2015 at the 21st session of United Nations Climate Change Conference of Parties (COP-21) in Paris. The ISA aims to mobilize 1000 billion USD of investment and generate 1000 GW solar energy.

Nicargua was the 87th country to sign the International Solar Alliance in July 2020.




Latest E-Books