India’s presidency of AIBD extended for one year

The Asia-pacific Institute of Broadcasting Development (AIBD) has unanimously extended India’s presidency for one more year.

Key facts

  • The member countries of the AIBD have decided to extend India’s presidency at the two-day General Conference of the Institute that was held in New Delhi.
  • The General Conference of the AIBD was inaugurated by the Union Minister of Information and Broadcasting, Youth Affairs and Sports.
  • It was organized from September 19 to 20 this year.
  • The conference focused on theme “Building a Stronger Future of Broadcasting in post pandemic era”.
  • During the event, all participating countries and member broadcasters have committed to work together for creating sustainable broadcasting environment, promoting latest technology know-how, quality content creation and various cooperative activities.
  • A five-year plan for cooperative activities and exchanges programmes were finalized during the conference.

About AIBD

The Asia-Pacific Institute for Broadcasting Development (AIBD) was set up in 1977 with the support from the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO). It is a regional intergovernmental organization that brings together countries of the United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (UN-ESCAP) to collaborate in the field of electronic media development. Its objective is to achieve a vibrant and cohesive electronic media environment in the Asia Pacific region through policy formulation and resource development. It currently has 26 countries that are full members. These countries are represented by 43 organizations and 52 affiliate members.


The UN-ESCAP is one of the five regional commissions of the UN Economic and Social Council. It was established in 1947 to boost economic relationship between countries in Asia and the Far East as well as other regions across the globe. It currently has 53 member states and 9 associate members, mostly from Asia and Pacific. It also includes countries such as France, the Netherlands, the United Kingdom and the United States.




Latest E-Books