Iconic Tourist Sites Initiative

In the Budget 2019-20, the Finance Minister proposed that 17 “Iconic Tourist Sites” in the country would be developed into world-class tourist destinations, to serve as a model for other tourism sites.

Which are the Sites Selected?

  • Taj Mahal and Fatehpur Sikri (Uttar Pradesh).
  • Ajanta & Ellora (Maharashtra).
  • Humayun’s Tomb, Red Fort and Qutub Minar (Delhi).
  • Colva (Goa).
  • Amer Fort (Rajasthan).
  • Somnath and Dholavira (Gujarat).
  • Khajuraho (Madhya Pradesh).
  • Hampi (Karnataka).
  • Mahabalipuram (Tamil Nadu).
  • Kaziranga (Assam).
  • Kumarakom (Kerala).
  • Mahabodhi Temple (Bihar).

Developing Iconic Tourist Sites

  • The Iconic Tourist Sites aims at overall development from the tourist destinations which includes roads and infrastructure, hotels and lodges, connectivity and access.
  • The Ministry of Tourism aims to involve several ministries from Railways to Civil Aviation for an integrated development.
  • The initiative aims to develop Iconic Sites in keeping with international standards, interventions in and around the monuments will have elements of universal accessibility, green technology, and enhanced security for tourists.

The Iconic Tourist Sites initiative is also aimed at enhancing India’s soft power.


Latest E-Books