Government constitute 21-member Prime Minister’s Science, Technology and Innovation Advisory Council

Union Government has constituted new 21-member advisory panel on science, technology and innovation called Prime Minister’s Science, Technology and Innovation Advisory Council (PM-STIAC). It will be headed by Principal Scientific Advisor to government K Vijay Raghavan. It will replace earlier Scientific Advisory Committee to Prime Minister and to Cabinet.


The council will advise PM on science, technology, as well as innovation. It will also coordinate implementation of PMs scientific vision. It will actively aid in formulation and timely implementation of major science and technology missions and evolve interdisciplinary technology development programmes.  It will also advise government on developing ‘Clusters of Excellence’ in science including city-based R&D clusters. It will work to bring together all science and technology partners from academia and institutes to industries near such centres or cities.

Composition of PM-STIAC

It has nine members, including Chairperson. Apart from nine members, it will also have twelve special invitees — eleven ex officio secretaries 10 central ministries, related to science, technology, energy and education, are special invitees to the panel. Members of PM-STIAC are including Dr VK Saraswat (member of NITI Aayog and former director general of Defence Research and Development Organisation), Dr AS Kiran Kumar (former chairman of Indian Space Research Organisation), Maj Gen Madhuri Kanitkar (dean of Armed Forces Medical College, Pune), Manjul Bhargava (professor at Princeton University and a Fields medal winner), Subhash Kak (professor at Oklahoma State University), Baba Kalyani (managing director of Bharat Forge), AS Kiran Kumar (former ISRO chief) and Ajay Sood (Professor at Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru).




Latest E-Books