Four Colonial structures re-dedicated to Kolkata

PM Modi is on a two-day official visit to Kolkata on January 11 and 12, 2020. During his visit, the Prime Minister will dedicate three colonial buildings to the country.


During the visit, the Prime Minister will dedicate Old Currency Building, Metcalfe House, Belvedere House and Victoria Memorial Hall. The buildings were renovated by Ministry of Culture. The ministry is also working on developing other iconic buildings and cultural spaces in Mumbai, Delhi, Ahmedabad and Varanasi.

Currency Building

The Currency Building was built in 1833. It was designed in Italian style with cast iron gates and Venetian windows. The RBI operated from the building till 1937 after which it was abandoned. The building was declared as a protected monument by the archaeological survey of India in 2002

Metacalfe Hall

The building was named after Lord Metacalfe. He was the Governor General of India between March 1835 and March 1836. It is famous for its 30 Corinthian pillars. It was built to honour his efforts towards free press. The building houses public library collection.

The Corinthian colums are slender and sleek structures of the Greek architecture. The column is fluted and are known for their decorative bell shapes and leaves.

Belvedere House

The Belvedere House was Mir Jafar’s palace. Later it housed several governors of Bengal and viceroys of India.



Latest E-Books