F1 champion Lewis Hamilton receives knighthood

On December 15, 2021, seven times Formula One (F1) champion Lewis Hamilton has received “knighthood” for services to motorsport.

Key Points

  • He received knighthood, days after he lost at the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix. He lost out to Red Bull driver Max Verstappen on December 12, 2021.
  • Lewis Hamilton holds the record of most race wins with 103.
  • He is tied with Michael Schumacher from Germany, on seven drivers’ championships.
  • Hamilton is the fourth F1 driver to be knighted.
  • Before him, late Australian Jack Brabham, Stirling Moss and triple champion Jackie Stewart have been knighted.
  • However, Lewis Hamilton is the only one to have received this award while still racing.

Sportsmen who received Knighthood

Other sportsmen who have received a knighthood include:

  1. Cycling’s Tour de France winner Bradley Wiggins
  2. Olympic 5,000 & 10,000 metres gold medallist Mo Farah
  3. Two times Wimbledon champion Andy Murray and
  4. England cricketer Alastair Cook.

Sir Lewis Carl Davidson Hamilton

He is a British racing driver, currently competing in Formula One for Mercedes. He has previously driven for McLaren in between 2007 to 2012. He won a joint-record seven World Drivers’ Championship titles in F1 and holds the records for most wins (103), podium finishes (182) and pole positions (103). In 2020 issue of Time, he was listed as one of the 100 most influential people. He was recently knighted in 2021 New Year Honours.




Latest E-Books