ECI Announcement on Presidential Election 2022

Chief Election Commissioner, Rajiv Kumar, recently announced the schedule for President Election 2022.

What is the date of Presidential Election?

Voting for Presidential Election will be held on July 18, 2022 while votes will be counted on July 21, 2022. The tenure of current President Ram Nath Kovind is set to end on July 24, 2022. In the election 2022, elected members of legislative assemblies of all States, Union Territory of Puducherry and Union Territories of Delhi will also take part in voting process.


In 2017, the Presidential elections in India were held on July 17. Winner was declared on July 20, 2017.  As per Article 62 of the constitution, election for the next President must be held before the completion of incumbent President term.

How is the President of India elected?

In India, the President is elected by members of the electoral college consisting of elected members of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha of the Parliament.

Who are the eligible voters?

In the Presidential election 2022, following members are the eligible voters:

  1. Elected members of the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha,
  2. Elected members of legislative assemblies of States and the Union Territories

Ineligible voters

Nominated members of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha or legislative assemblies of states are not included in the electoral college. Thus, they are not entitled to participate in President Election 2022.

Electoral College of Presidential Election

Electoral college of the Presidential Election comprises of 776 MPs of the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha, besides the MLAs of the State Assemblies and Union Territories of Puducherry and Delhi. The total votes for the President of India election are counted based on their value. Their values vary from State to State. An MLA from Uttar Pradesh carry the highest value, followed by Maharashtra and West Bengal.

Current President of India

Current President Ram Nath Kovind is the 14th President of India. He assumed charges on July 25, 2017. He is a member of the Bharatiya Janata Party. He is the first person from Uttar Pradesh to serve this position.




Latest E-Books