Covishield-jabbed to be allowed into 8 European countries

Eight European Union states included Covishield in list of vaccines approved to enter into the region.

Key Points

Covishield was allowed in 8 EU counties after India warned of retaliation when none of its vaccines were added to ‘Green Pass’.

Which 8 countries allowed entry?

Eight countries include Germany, Austria, Slovenia, Iceland, Greece, Spain, Ireland and Switzerland. These countries will exempt those vaccinated with Covishield from all the travel curbs and mandatory quarantine.

India and EU Tussle

India said that, it would recognize EU’s digital Covid certificate on a reciprocal basis. It would not accept it until 27-member EU does the same for both of Indian vaccines, Covishield and Covaxin. India highlighted, it will adopt a policy of reciprocity and exempt European nationals holding ‘Green Pass’ from mandatory quarantine if India’s request of recognizing Covishield and Covaxin vaccines are heeded to.

India’s demand

India had raised this issue with European Medicines Agency (EMA) and France. It also asked EU member states to individually consider extending a similar exemption. India requested EU member nations to accept vaccination certificate issued through CoWIN portal. Later, an EU official said that individual member states can also accept vaccines authorized at national level or approved by World Health Organization (WHO).

About ‘Green Pass’

It is EU Digital Covid Certificate which will be required to travel in EU from 1 July. It will allow those persons who have taken two doses of a vaccine on its list to travel to Europe. It will also exempt them from mandatory quarantine. It comprises of information like name, date of birth, date of issuance, name of the vaccine and the details of negative test result or recovery from COVID-19 disease.




Latest E-Books