Clarification of Andhra Pradesh Capital

Confusion over the capital of Andhra Pradesh is still there, despite eight years of bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh state.


  • On February 2, 2022, a debate was held in Rajya Sabha, on the issue of capital of Andhra Pradesh.
  • On a question by BJP MP GVL Narasimha Rao, Union Home Minister Nityananda Rai made it clear that decision on capital belongs to state and opined that, capital is Amaravati.

Decision of Amaravati as Capital

Amaravati region was decided as capital by then TDP government after bifurcation of the state. In 2019 elections, YSRCP government came to power and announced to set up three capitals in the name of decentralisation of governance. But farmers of Amaravati were upset with the decision and are opposing this decision since then. However, YSRCP government withdrawn the three capital bills in November 2021, citing technical flaws.

Three capitals of Andhra Pradesh- Background

State government had notified AP Decentralisation and Inclusive Development of All Regions Act, 2020 as well as AP Capital Region Development Authority (Repeal) Act, 2020, on July 31, 2020.  This law made way for three capitals for the state, namely

  1. Amaravati, as legislative capital.
  2. Visakhapatnam, as executive capital and
  3. Kurnool, as judicial capital.

What was the need for three capitals?

Government of the state was against building one mega capital while neglecting other parts. Government was of the view that, three capitals will ensure equal development of different regions in the state.

Recommendations by different committees

Major committees viz., K Sivaramakrishnan Committee, B N Srikrishna Committee, and G N Rao Committee etc, recommended for decentralisation, while suggesting a suitable location for capital.

Indian states with multiple capitals

  1. Maharashtra has two capitals namely, Mumbai and Nagpur (holds the winter session of state assembly).
  2. Himachal Pradesh has two capitals at Shimla and Dharamshala (winter capital).




Latest E-Books