Who was the last Maratha chief to accept the Subsidiary Alliance of the British?
[A] Gaikwad
[B] Scindia
[C] Holkar
[D] Bhonsle

The doctrine of subsidiary alliance was introduced by Marquess (or Lord) Wellesley, British Governor-General of India from 1798 to 1805 . Under this doctrine, Indian rulers under British protection surrendered control of their foreign affairs to the British. Hyderabad first signed it. The five Maratha chiefs entered into subsidiary alliance as follows: Peshava →1802 Scindia →1804 Gaekwa →1805 Bhonsle →1806 Holkar →1818.