Who has been posthumously honoured with the Ashok Chakra on the 2016 Independence Day?
[A]Hanamanthappa Koppad
[B]Havildar Hangpan Dada
[C]Niranjan Ek
[D]Gursevak Singh

Havildar Hangpan Dada
Havildar Hangpan Dada has been posthumously honoured with the Ashok Chakra, India’s highest award for gallantry during peace time, on the eve of 70th Independence Day 2016 by President Pranab Mukherjee. He belonged to the Assam Regiment/35th Battalion of the Rashtriya Rifles. Dada had shown exemplary courage, devotion and gallantry beyond the call of duty during an encounter with a group of terrorists in Jammu and Kashmir and died in Kupwara on May 27, 2016 after killing 3 terrorists. In all, 82 Gallantry Awards have been awarded this year to armed forces personnel and members of paramilitary forces. They include one Ashok Chakra, 14 Shaurya Chakras, 63 Sena Medals (Gallantry), two Nao Sena Medals (Gallantry) and two Vayu Sena Medals (Gallantry).