Consider the following statements: a) Virat Kohli has declared the ICC Cricketer of the Year 2016. b) Ravichandran Ashwin has been named the ICC?Test cricketer of the Year 2016. Which of the following statements is/are true?
[A]Only a
[B]Only b
[C]Both a & b
[D]None of the above

Only b
Indian off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin has bagged the prestigious Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy, after he has been named the ‘ICC Cricketer of the Year’ at ICC Awards 2016 in Dubai. Additionally, he also won the ICC?Test cricketer of the Year 2016 award. With this, he became the 2nd Indian player after Rahul Dravid to bag the two coveted prizes in the same year. In 2016, Ashwin picked up 72 wickets in 12 test matches at an outstanding average of 23.90 and scored 612 runs at an average of 43.17. He is the only Indian in ICC’s Test Team of the Year. Apart from this, Virat Kohli has been named captain of the ICC?ODI?Team of the Year, while Ravindra Jadeja and Rohit Sharma also featured in the ODI?Team of the Year.